From the horse's mouth

Tips for Trainers

Are you on the level?

Are you on the level?

It’s great that we have such a variety of qualifications in the UK but if you are selecting materials to support training programmes it can sometime be difficult to decide what is appropriate.

Materials provided by SkillsWheel are not mapped to specific qualifications but a guide to the most suitable level is shown for each product.  This guide may help to understand the regulations.

In England, Wales and Northern Ireland, there are eight different levels of education – as well as an entry level. These are set out by something known as the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF). This provides a formal way of structuring the different levels of education.

In Scotland, there are 12 different levels of education. These are set out by something known as the SCQF.

Entry Level

Entry Level, as its name suggests, is the most basic form of qualification, and usually provides an introduction into education. This type of qualification is not usually mandatory as part of a qualification.

Entry level qualifications are available three different sub-categories, which progressively get more difficult: entry levels 1, 2 and 3.

Examples of entry level qualifications include:

  • Entry level functional or essential skills
  • Entry level awards and diplomas
  • Entry level certificates (ELCs)
  • Entry level English for foreign language speakers (ESOL)
  • Skills for Life

Target Audience

Those looking to learn a new subject or language, as well as those looking to enter formal education.

Print   Email

Get in touch

logo shopHertford Heath, Herts

Sign up for SkillsWheel News